Proclamation

WHEREAS, Mental health is integral to overall well-being, directly tied to physical health, and depends on vibrant communities in the context of culture, safe neighborhoods, relationships and belonging; and

WHEREAS, Addressing economic stability, social support, education, and meaningful access to culturally affirming mental health services are required to realize health equity; and

WHEREAS, Community mental health needs encompass mental, physical, spiritual, and the total well-being of individuals in the context of their culture; and

WHERAS, Youth are experiencing increased feelings of sadness, hopelessness and loneliness, and the U.S. Surgeon General has declared youth mental health a public health crisis; and

WHEREAS, Full acknowledgement of the harms enacted by mental health institutions against black and indigenous communities, immigrant and refugee communities, LGBTQIA+ families, and people who are neurodivergent is a critical step in restoring trust in mental health services; and

WHEREAS, We recognize the specific challenges faced by justice-involved clients and commit to initiatives that reduce the likelihood of their contact with law enforcement and the legal system due to mental illness; and

WHEREAS, Individuals facing mental health challenges need equitable opportunities to lead fulfilling lives, and breaking down stigma and fostering a culture of compassion and inclusivity supports community connection at every stage of life; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners declares May 2024 as Mental Health Awareness Month in Ramsey County; and Be It Further

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners reaffirms its commitment to improving the conditions influencing quality of life and social determinants of mental health, requiring strategic partnerships with traditional systems, aiming to enhance residents' health, well-being, and wellness through culturally congruent pathways, policies, and programs.

Trista Martinson, Board Chair, District 3

Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2

Rafael Ortega, Commissioner, District 5

Water G. Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7

Nicole Frethem, Commissioner, District 1

Rena Moran, Commissioner, District 4

Mai Chong Xiong, Commissioner, District 6

Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7