roclamation

WHEREAS, The month of June is recognized internationally as PRIDE Month to commemorate the Stonewall Riots in June 1969, which sparked the Gay Rights liberation movement; and

WHEREAS, The first-ever PRIDE parade known as the "Christopher Street Liberation Day" was organized to "demonstrate against centuries of abuse; official betrayal of human rights by virtually all segments of society; from government hostility to employment and housing discrimination and anti-homosexual laws"; and

WHEREAS, The United States officially joined 18 other countries in legalizing same-sex marriages on June 26, 2015 and currently 37 countries have legalized same-sex marriages; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County has been advancing marriage equality by signing over 1,333 civil contracts in support of residents as of June 2024; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County employs over 4000 employees with a spectrum of diverse ethnic and racial identities, gender and sexual identities, age ranges, abilities, and lived experiences that adds value to the county's workforce; and

WHEREAS, The PRIDE: LGBTQIA2S+ Employee Resource Group's was established in 2023 and its mission is to promote a safe and inclusive workplace culture for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, asexual, and two spirit Ramsey County employees and allies; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County would like to highlight and acknowledge Mossier, one of many great community partnerships that is dedicated to transforming workplaces with LGBTQIA2S+ Diversity and Equity initiatives and has had a profound impact on Ramsey County; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners declares June 2024 as Pride Month in Ramsey County and encourages everyone to celebrate PRIDE Month with their loved ones and with all communities in Ramsey County; and Be It Further

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners will continue to advance and deepen their commitment to advocate for the rights of LGBTQIA2S+ employees and residents.

Trista Martinson, Board Chair, District 3

Mary & McLure Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2

Ala Rafael Ortega, Commissioner, District 5

Victoria Q. Reinhardt Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7

Nicole Frethem, Commissioner, District 1 Anna Maran Rena Moran, Commissioner, District 4 Jena FOR Mai Chong Xiong, Commissioner, District 6

Johanna Berg, County Manager